BPW International Internship – Beginning my Career with BPW

By Meghan Krumholz, BPW International Intern September 2010 – March 2011

In the summer of 2010, I applied and interviewed for an internship with Business and Professional Women International (BPW International for short). I had the pleasure of meeting then BPW International President Elizabeth Benham and the other amazing staff of the international office. I was eager to learn more about the organization and how I could be a part of it. After a long discussion I was pleased to learn that I would start my internship with BPW in September.

From day one, I quickly learned about all of the good work BPW International contributes to the United Nations as an NGO with consultative status, an honor BPW has held for more than 60 years. I had several incredible opportunities to liaise with UN Women representatives to set a course for the Women’s Empowerment Principles (WEP). This included sitting in on important strategy meetings and having an invaluable chance not only to meet and network with UN representatives, but also to personally contribute to the conversation.

While interning, I helped plan the important Triennial Congress in Helsinki this past June. I was afforded the opportunity to speak not only with business and political leaders but, more importantly, with so many incredible BPW members. I learned that what makes BPW such a great organization is not only its contributions at the UN but the important work of each BPW club, affiliation and member. It is the hard work, dedication and passion of each woman that makes BPW so incredible.

As an event planner and advocate working in New York City, I am putting the skills I learn at BPW International to use every day. The professional training and mentorship I continue to gain from BPW has helped me stand out in the workplace in such a positive way.

The BPW Internship was a truly rewarding experience and an important first step in my career. I am happy to know that my continued growth as a professional woman will be steps that I take with the support of more than 30,000 BPW members. As a Young BPW member I am excited to be a part of such an incredible network of women.

 

 

Leave a Reply

